Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Let’s be honest… shall we?

Parenting is HARD! I don’t know why we all are so compelled to share only the good stuff on social media. You know what I’m talking about… that time both of your children smiled for the camera rather than fighting over the same damn Barbie… maybe the one date night you’ve had in the last couple of months, the time your hair looked GREAT because you just got it cut and the gray dyed!

What about all the other stuff that doesn’t make the highlight reel?

The whining, the resistance to naps and ‘witching hour’ that later ensues. Perhaps the times they run away from you giggling in the grocery store because they think it’s a fun game of ‘chase me’.  Don’t even get me started when the phone rings, because that’s their cue to start chanting for something they need “RIGHT NOW MOM!”

If we all feel so comfortable sharing the good stuff, maybe we should share the not-so- good stuff too? I’m not suggesting we stop posting the positive or become a “Debbie Downer”, but what about posting a more realistic peak at our lives? Not everyday is fun, or easy, it’s hard. Life is challenging! Are we all in some unspoken competition with each other that we feel like we can’t crumble sometimes because it’s a sign of weakness?

I know I won’t be the first to admit that sometimes I want to run away screaming or cry with them.  Just to have a moment of peace. A time where no one needs you, no one is hanging on you or you can finish just one thought.  A place of quiet for a half hour, where I could let my mind wander (or, ok, watch Bravo!)

I know that I am so incredibly blessed to have this sweet chaos in my life. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I waited a long time to become a mom and although it’s only been 4+ years, I can’t remember life before my children and wouldn’t want to. Unconditional love. It’s amazing.  That doesn’t mean I don’t need some damn space sometimes. However, being a good parent means you don’t get that sometimes, even when you desperately need it.  Ask for help and accept it when it’s offered. Tap into your family, friends or support system. It really does take a village.