Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s rare I would describe myself as carefree.
In fact, I’m quite the opposite. While I’ve mostly come to peace with the Type A, run around non-stop, worrier that is my personality, it would be nice to just slow it down sometimes.
I know how hard it is to put down your phone and not respond to that email, check facebook or respond to that text or a phone call immediately. It’s just the way life is these days. So, taking the temptation away, can feel both weird, but freeing.

vtblog1There is a place my family and I vacation where our cell phones have never worked. Thank God! It’s amazing to get off the exit and turn it off. There’s a house phone in case of emergency, but no voicemail, no computers, no cable, you get it. It’s amazing. We go for walks, we eat and drink, swim and go for boat rides in the summer.
Out of a 5 day stretch, we only got 1 boat day, but it was perfect. The sun was shining from sunrise to sunset. It was warm, and I was with family. Doesn’t get any better than that for me. My dad took the kids for a boat ride and then it was time for the adults to go tubing. Much like Christmas and Halloween, it’s one of my favorite activities I look forward to all year. I go first. I hopped on like a frog and waited in anticipation of how long I would last before I got dumped off! I love the adrenaline rush of hanging on for dear life as we turn and I try and not get sucked into the wake! I’m giggling and I feel like a kid again. In that moment, I’m not refereeing the latest battle between my girls or stressing about bills or thinking about a deadline, I’m just having fun, and it’s exhilarating. I’m happy, carefree and I feel so light! My sister and I jumped off the boat and swam back to shore. So much fun.
I want my kids to see me that happy more often. I want them to see their mom being silly more instead of yelling at them to clean up the playroom or stop pulling the dog’s tail. It’s so easy to get caught up in the everyday minutia. While taking care of my girls is the best job in the world, it doesn’t mean it’s not challenging. It’s hard being their everything sometimes. Sometimes mama needs a little something left for herself. So, here’s a challenge: find what makes you laugh and do it! What are you waiting for?