Tags

, , , , ,

I’m sure I’m not the only mom out there who wakes up with a plan.

On most weekdays for us that means I get the girls up, feed them breakfast, brush teeth, get them dressed and Daddy brings Brianna to school.  What happens next varies depending on the day.  Sometimes I play with Addison or take her to a class, sometimes I have piles of laundry to do, sometimes I have to work.

Today, I threw plan A out the window and I’m so grateful.

My babysitter was supposed to come over so I could work this morning.  But, because of the freezing rain and sheet of ice outside, Brianna didn’t have school.  I had both of my daughters home with me unexpectedly.  I had a choice; freak out over my impending deadlines and tell the babysitter to be careful driving, or just throw in the towel, stay home and tell her to do the same!

I’m so glad I chose the latter.

I almost always figure out a way to work around obstacles.  If any of us gets sick or a conference call gets cancelled, I move on to the next pressing issue.  Today, however, I seized the moment.  It’s not something that comes easily for me, a type A mom who works at home as a freelance writer.  I will admit that I am sometimes distracted, looking for ideas or promoting my work.  But, I am working from home because I want to.  I want the chaos. For me, it’s the best of both worlds for me to be able to write and take care of my children.  Even if while I’m trying to finish a thought, I’m hearing, “Moooom, she took my book away from me!” or “She pushed me!”

But, today, I was totally engaged.  I spent the day playing dress up, doing crafts and chasing my girls around with miniature horses while dancing to Christmas music.  I had so much fun and the smiles on their faces tell me they did too.

planbwordpressblog

I am one of those moms who tries to do it all.  I’m not in competition with anyone but myself.  I want to be there when my daughter says, “I love you Mom, you’re the best!” or when my youngest gives me a big hug and says “Meow” for the first time like she did yesterday.  I also run around like a lunatic trying to keep this place clean and the laundry done, all while writing.  Why? Because I enjoy it all.  I may complain from time to time about being exhausted, but at the end of the day, it’s soo worth it and I wouldn’t have it any other way!