Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s so easy to get caught up in the everyday stress.

Getting up, getting the kids their breakfast, playing referee when they’re not sharing, nap time (and will Brianna take one today or just be feisty all afternoon until she collapses) and don’t get me started on dinner time!

My point is, it’s easy to get lost in the little things.

At the end of every day, I thank God for all of my blessings, first and foremost, my husband and my daughters.  At that moment, when I’m so tired and ready to crawl into bed, I check on them, a few times admittedly, before I can finally rest.  That’s when all the little things that drove me nuts don’t matter anymore.  All that matters is they’re safe and healthy and happy.  I blow them kisses and say “Mama loves you.”  It’s just pure, unconditional love.

All the whining and protesting is gone at that point and all I remember are the best parts of the day…

girls pumpkins wordpressUs decorating pumpkins…

pumpkins word press

 

Addison squeezing the gooey seeds and Brianna glueing feathers all over hers.  It brings a smile to my face as I lay in bed thinking about the day. All the “you’re not listening to me’s” and “please stop whining’s” are replaced with gratitude and hope for another amazing day to spend with my kids.

It’s hard for me to admit, but on the rough days I look forward to when Daddy comes home to relieve me for a few minutes or even their bedtime so I can take a breath.  But, am I the only one who feels like when I go to sleep I can’t wait to do it all over again?  All of it, the chaos, the hilarity, the frustration, the silliness, the joy, that is my children.

I wish I could bottle it up and remind myself at those difficult moments, THIS moment is all that matters.  Focus on the positive, forget the negative, live in the moment, laugh at yourself! (I really need to remember the last one!)

I have the most incredible husband to thank for starting this family with.  We did good.  I thank God everyday for this family, my family.