Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

fall wordpress

A cool breeze, the rustle of the leaves in the wind, acorns falling from the trees.

Welcome fall, my favorite season.  It’s my perfect day out.  The sun is shining, I don’t need a jacket, but I won’t break out in a sweat on my walk either.  The first few speckles of color can be seen on the leaves.  I treasure this season, which is always way too short.

I love the quintessential New England fall day.  Signs for apple picking, hay rides, mums and pumpkins everywhere, it’s a feast for the senses.  I want to bottle up the smell and create my own candle that I can burn year-round. I want to spend every second of my day outside smiling and playing with my family. Simply put, fall makes me happy.

The country fairs come every fall.  I remember going with my family and now look forward to taking mine.  I love seeing my daughter’s faces when they get to see a cow, pig and a sheep up close.  I laugh as I wipe away the sauce all over their mouths from the fried dough and ice cream cones!  There’s cider donuts at every farm stand, some which are still warm and melt in your mouth.  Hot cider makes you toasty!  It’s also a great time to visit a local winery.

As if there wasn’t enough to love, it’s capped off with my second favorite holiday, Halloween.  I LOVE dressing up in costumes, STILL.  My sister and I used to throw Halloween theme parties when we had an apartment together. When I was little, I frequently dressed up like a witch.  I love trick or treating and am so excited that I get to take my children again this year.  Holidays are always little reality checks for me, you take pictures, you remember “what you were last year” for Halloween.  Last year, I had a 2 year old and a 3 month old.  This year, I have a 3 year old who decided what she was going to be on her own: a butterfly.  The costume was homemade, courtesy of her very talented Aunt.  I’m also excited my youngest can walk the block with us this year instead of me having to hurry home to feed her! My hope is that they’ll love it as much as I do.  My husband always says “you act like a child around the holidays” and I couldn’t agree more, in fact, I think it’s a compliment!  It brings out the best in me.

No other season can compete with fall, although I would miss spring and summer if I lived in a place where the weather didn’t change as often as it does in New England!