Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s what makes you smile and it’s different for everyone.

I enjoy a glass of wine with the best of them, but I’m talking about the little things that evoke pure joy.  They have nothing to do with drugs or alcohol, but they still give you that buzz.

For me, it’s singing at the top of my lungs to my favorite tunes, alone in the car, completely uninhibited.  My taste includes everything from country to alternative and has changed alot over the years to whoever “speaks to me” at the time.  Right now I can’t get enough of

Miranda Lambert, Sugarland, Lori McKenna and the Dixie Chicks.

When I was younger, my family/friends would call me the karaoke queen.  Not because I was the best singer, but because I loved it so much.  However, as outgoing as I am, I’ve always had terrible stagefright.  I would debate all night what to sing, 10,000 Maniacs or “Me and Bobby McGee” by Janis Joplin.  I’d freak out before they called my name and literally shake through the first few bars of a song, but, as soon as I got going and found a focal point to just let loose, it was/still is one of my favorite “highs!”

I know I’m not going to be “the next big thing.”  I never studied music and can’t read it, never took voice lessons, but I enjoy it.  It’s fun and freeing to tap into all that emotion when a song speaks to you.

What is YOUR natural high?