Tags

, , , , , ,

One year ago today, our family of three, became a family of four.
I remember the days and months leading up to my daughter’s birth vividly.
My second pregnancy wasn’t as enjoyable as my first, simply because I just didn’t feel great. I was constantly nauseous and had some food aversions, even though I always seemed to crave ice cream! The heartburn was brutal, the back pain constant and I was definitely just exhausted trying to keep up with my daughter Brianna, who wouldn’t yet be two when she became a big sister. I was also working full time early mornings. When I was 8 months pregnant, I cut back to 4 days a week and then took a few weeks off before my due date. When family, friends and co-workers asked how I felt, I generally didn’t hold back, and said, “the way I’m feeling, this girl is going to have some sass!”
I remember clinging to Brianna in those final days before I went into labor, giving her extra attention while wondering how I could possibly love another child as much as her. My husband and I bought her toys to congratulate her on becoming a big sister. We never wanted her to feel left out or jealous (even though we knew some of that is unavoidable).
My due date was July 14th. My last doctors appointment was the 12th. I had been up half the night beforehand with contractions and thought, this is it, but then my labor stalled. The contractions returned with a vengeance that afternoon. Time to call the Grandma’s to come and watch Brianna!
I had no idea what to expect, since every labor and every baby is different. Although the pregnancy was more difficult, this labor was much easier. I also had the same doctor and nurse as my first delivery, which was very comforting!
As soon as Addison came into the world, I was in love, all over again. I instantly bonded with my teeny, tiny, baby girl. I forgot about the heartburn and nauseousness and just thanked God for giving us not one, but two healthy baby girls, a true miracle.
Today, Addison is an extremely happy little girl with a bit of a short fuse (not sure where she gets that from haa) She loves her big sister so much and follows her every move and does her best to keep up. So much so, she walked at 10 months. She is extremely attached to me while also being fearless. She is rugged and loves to run and giggle and dances a little bit like “Elaine” on “Seinfeld”. She is the reason our house is covered in baby gates. We had them for Brianna but never needed them! You can’t take your eyes off of her for a minute or she’ll be into something she’s not supposed to. She’s not a great sleeper, but neither am I. She has brought so much joy to our family. When people told me how tough it was going from “1 to 2” children, I was frightened. Now that it’s a reality, I can say, I agree, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. Being a mom is the most rewarding job in the world and I thank God everyday for my girls and for my husband and family, because it really does take a village!