Tags

, , , ,

I’ll admit it.
I want to be alone.
Not in a “I want to be single” sense, just that I want to be myself. I never understood when I was growing up, my mom would say “it was quiet, I was alone and it was great”, when she got a couple of hours to herself.
I am the oldest of 4 siblings. How in the world my parents got through it, I’ll never know. But, as someone who is very social and extroverted, and knowing I got that from my mom, I never understood this need for “quiet time” until I became a mom of two. NOW I get it. That free time you had to yourself is pretty much gone, and if I do get any free time, it’s usually reserved for working or cleaning. (however I’m REALLY trying to relax A LITTLE) I’m not complaining, in fact, I thank God everyday for my amazing family and for all the time I get to spend with my children. That being said, I’m also human. I need a few minutes where no one needs me to take them potty or to find them a snack, “Nooo mom, NOT that, I want CHOCOLATE!”, or to hold them or to entertain them or to tell them “No!, don’t eat grass!” So when my hubbie comes home and I say, “please take them, I need a minute” and he says, “just go for a ride”, I don’t fight him on it, I just go.
I drove around for a few minutes and ran an errand. Then I sat in the car and wrote. It’s my therapy. I listened to some of my favorite music and sang at the top of my lungs. When I got home about 25 minutes later, I had so much more energy, I took the dog for a quick walk.
I honestly felt like a new woman after that 45 minutes.
Here’s my two cents: accept help when it’s offered!! It doesn’t make you a bad mom (or dad for that matter!)