Tags

, , , ,

“You’re a good mom”, Brianna says to me the other day.
She didn’t say it after I took her for ice cream or to her favorite “playplace”, she just said it, out of the blue.
At 2 and a half, she has no idea how much that means to me.
It got me thinking, what makes a good mom?
We all know going into it, it means little to no sleep sometimes and a lot of worrying along with putting their needs before your own.
To me, it also means being there for my kids, listening to them, getting to know them. It means celebrating their quirks, even the ones that aren’t so charming!
Being a good mom means your kids are excited when they get to hang out with family or friends because you gave them confidence.
Being a good mom is being there for your kids even when they said they didn’t need you to be, or in fact told you to “go away mom.”
And you’re STILL a good mom if your kids push your buttons and you look forward to your spouse coming home from work (or help from family, friends or a babysitter) You’ll get through the tough times because you love them more than life itself.
It’s frustrating and it’s HARD sometimes, but children truly are a gift, a complicated and beautiful little miracle and they’re all yours.
While I was prepared to be a mom on paper, stocking up on diapers, wipes, clothes, pacifiers, etc, I wasn’t prepared for the overwhelming love I feel for my daughters. I had always wanted to be a mom and prayed it would someday happen when I met the right person, but it has just exceeded my expectations in ways I can’t put on paper.
So, Happy Mother’s Day Mamas! You’re probably doing a much better job than you think!