Tags

, , , , ,

Today, I got my daughter back.
We didn’t go anywhere, and neither did she, but it has certaintly felt like some other kid took over my daughter’s body!
For the past 7 weeks (I just counted) my 2 and a half year old has been up and down, all over the place. It’s like walking on eggshells around her, except, I’m her mom, so I have to be the “bad guy” and have her eat breakfast, shower and use the potty. And, bedtime, forget it, it’s been an absolute nightmare. But today, I can honestly say I have a sense of peace I haven’t felt in weeks. She’s happy!! We played, we ate, I got some stuff done around the house and she helped me, and then, for the first time in about a week, she took a nap. I had just about given up, had it not been for a call to the pediatrican, who suggested to be patient (I thought waiting to call after this long was patient, but whatever). I had even switched my strategy, calling it “quiet time” and telling her, as long as she’s quiet, she can read in bed. It hadn’t worked for days, but then today, I don’t know what happened, perhaps it was the promise for a surprise treat if she would just not cry and be quiet until I came and got her, whatever it was, she was quiet, and she fell asleep. The silence was bliss (my youngest daughter usually doesn’t give me a problem for naps at this point, but the timing is always tricky).
Anyway, I don’t know about you, but if your child is crying, it doesn’t matter if you know they’re ok, it just breaks your heart and pisses you off all at the same time. I know her father and I know what’s best for her, and generally when she’s being manipulative (A LOT lately) vs when she actually needs something, but STILL, to hear that crying when you’re trying to get some work done or make a phone call or relax for that matter is frustrating, nonetheless. I’m not one of those people who can just tune others out.
BUT, today, I got my girl back. Brianna has (had) ALWAYS been a great sleeper, until 7 weeks ago.
When she woke up from her nap today, she was happy. I have to say, it’s awesome. I’ve been just literally racking my brain about ideas to ease this transition/phase in her life (she only wants cold food, is afraid of ALOT of things, cries at the drop of a hat and hates sleeping). We have a strict routine (key, I’m told to getting over it) and I keep enforcing the rules of the roost. Believe me, it’s tempting to let her sit in front of the TV during the middle of her temper tantrum when she chants, “I just want to watch something”, but someone once told me, doing the right thing, is sometimes the hardest. So today, I absolutely enjoyed my sweet, silly, happy, smart, beautiful daughter who, I of course love unconditionally, it’s just a whole lot better when she’s content.