Tags

,

Before my daughters were born and I felt like crap, I’d call in sick.
I usually didn’t drag my sick butt into work and spread my germs, I just took the day, felt a little guilt for who would get stuck with the extra work, and rested.
My day consisted of sitting on the couch in my pj’s, remote in hand. After a day of not moving, watching garbage TV, and not thinking for that matter, I’d feel better.
Clearly things have changed!

My daughters don’t care that mama doesn’t feel good. It’s not personal, they’re just too young to understand.
Sometimes I don’t realize how much energy it takes to raise my daughters until I get sick. You take for granted feeling good and keeping up with their needs. But as soon as you get knocked on your butt by a cold, or worse, that’s when you think those other days are cake!
When I woke up and felt like crap and thought about all the things on the agenda, I wanted to pull the blanket over my head and pretend my daughter could get up and get her own bottle. My older daughter Brianna is taking a class she absolutley loves, so unless I was dealing with something more than a cold, I wanted to take her, because she loves it. I also had an important phone call scheduled and writing to do, how am I going to get through the day?
You can sit there and get ahead of yourself (or at least I can) so easily and think about all the stuff you have to do and how long it will be until you lay your head down again, but sometimes you surprise yourself, like I did today. You’re probably stronger than you think.
I got up, and with the help of my husband, got the girls ready and out the door.
We had a blast at the class and I almost forgot I didn’t feel good.
I think the phone call went well and here I am writing.
I also somehow mustered the energy to vacumn, sweep and do a load of laundry, although tonight, the hubbie is picking up take-out rather than me getting to dinner.
It’s ok, I know I’m not perfect, and am just grateful to accept the help.
I honestly don’t know how single parents do it. I give them so much credit for being able to take care of their children and themselves, especially, on a sick day.