Tags

, ,

“Mama!, I’m awake, and I’m calling you, can you hear me?”
“Daddy, daddy, DAAAADEEEE”!
Add to that the first rumblings of my baby girls cry, I swear they plan it, in unison!

I shouldn’t be whining. It took me months to finagle my daughter’s schedules so their naps overlap, at least briefly, so I can collect my thoughts. Depending on the day, I’ll write, get my chores done or zone out watching one of my TV shows I recorded in peace.
Don’t get me wrong, when I round the corner into their room and see their smiling face, I forget I was ever annoyed at the fact that I didn’t have enough downtime. However, in that brief moment, when I first hear them,
I can’t help but be human sometimes and just wish I had 5 more minutes. (This, despite the fact that during nap time I’m constantly checking on them to make sure they’re ok even WITH a montior!)

On the weekends, nap time is the only time my husband and I really have to spend by ourselves. (Since the girls schedules aren’t synched, and my husband is more of a night person and I’ve become more of a morning person, nap time is the only time we’re both awake) If we have to run an errand, I try to time it so the girls WON’T fall asleep in the car a couple miles from home, because there’s a fat chance of getting them back to sleep. I know it sounds a little pathetic, but that time, even if it is an hour, is precious to us, and makes us better parents in the long run because we had a chance to remember we’re also still a husband and wife.

I’d love to hear how you make it work! Share your comments with me!