Tags

, ,

Sometimes I feel like a superstar!

superstar

Not Molly Shannon’s character in “Superstar”, but like I deserve a pat on the back or a gold star or something for doing what needs to get done throughout the course of the day.

I had a friend recently say to me, “I don’t know how you find the time”, and it got me thinking, I don’t know how I do either! It’s almost like I get an adrenaline rush out of seeing how much I can accomplish in one day! (yes I drink coffee and if you happened to read a previous post, this is also those genes kicking in again, no one in my family really knows how to relax)

Anyway, I’m talking about the days when I seemingly wake up with a list of tasks to do a mile long and actually accomplish many or all of them. They’re not big things, but rather little chores, that just seem to take that much longer when you’re trying to take care of two little girls!

Doing the laundry for example. Everyone has to do it. I don’t deserve a medal for getting it done, but it’s how to get down the stairs at an ideal time when not only Brianna is entertaining herself, but Addison is either in her exersaucer or bouncer, because I’d worry in the few minutes I was down there, Brianna could trip and fall, on Addison, or Addison could get a hold of a toy she could choke on, either way, we’re not there yet. So a simple task, complicated by timing! So I look for those moments. If you were inside my head, you’d hear constant chatter, “ooh, they’re happy, and playing nice, RUNNN! get something done, What do I need to do? How much time do I have? laundry, dishes, restocking the diaper bag, look for a job, start dinner? What’s most important right now?”
Again, I KNOW I’m not unique in the fact that having kids and being a good parent is all about juggling and multi-tasking and moms and dads just have to figure it out.

I’ve also learned from family/friends/experience to try and make anything you need to get done into a game. So, if you need to fold that pile of laundry that’s been sitting there for days, ask them for help. (we all know they’re creating a little more work, but they’re distracted for the 5 minutes it’ll take you and you’ll catch up!) Really, they just want to be like you. (at least at this age!)

Same goes for making lunch. Addison has a short fuse (ok, I’ll admit, like me) especially when it comes to hunger. When she wants to eat, be ready, or prepare for screaming. So, while I throw Brianna’s lunch together and grab Addison’s, Brianna is an excellent distraction! They both get a kick out of each other and generally can make each other laugh. Our go-to song is “Wheels on the Bus”, so far, it’s the only one that calms Addison down!

What about that phone call you have to make? In the months after Addison was born, I can’t tell you about the countless calls I had to make to our insurance company to straighten out a hospital bill because it takes a while for everything to catch up. Generally, Brianna is completely content, but lately, as soon as I get on the phone, she needs to tell me all kinds of things, that second. (even though I’d much rather listen to her than the insurance company)

Here’s the really annoying part. So, I often times can’t help myself, and like to share what I’ve accomplished that day with my husband. Sometimes texting him, “called insurance company, they said, blah, blah, blah”, or “finished load of laundry, but Addison is cranky so it’s still in the dryer”, or “ran dishwasher, but having trouble getting dinner started”. Because I used to work with him, I KNOW he’s generally busy and doesn’t have time for these minute details. But I just can’t help myself sometimes! It’s not like I’m one of those people who is in constant need of attention, but sometimes, I guess I like to toot my own horn a little, and what’s wrong with that?