Tags

, , ,

My husband works days, usually Monday through Friday. That means, like so many others, the weekend is family time. But of course that’s also when there are birthday parties, visits to relatives, errands to run, and for us, never-ending projects to do around the house. My husband and I take turns, usually every weekend, to cross a few things off our “to-do” lists. But somehow, in 2 days with 2 small children, it’s impossible to make a dent.
While I’m the kind of person who wakes up in the morning ready to go, my husband, is the exact opposite. I am most productive when I get out of bed, it’s when I have the most energy and want to get things done. (I get a certain satisfaction from deleting reminders in my phone) My husband, on the other hand, is in no particular rush to do anything when he wakes up. In fact, I can’t tell you how many times he’s said to me, “Where’s the fire?” or “Come relax.” Here’s the thing, although we know this about each other, I can’t just relax when I have a list of stuff to do a mile long. (my family and I have been trying to figure out if this is a genetic trait, because we’re all like this!) On the flip side, I will never understand how when I’m falling asleep on the couch, my husband is doing dishes or throwing in a load of laundry or even doing our taxes!
Although we are complete opposites about almost everything, our common thread is how we work under pressure. Part of my job as a TV News Producer was to excel at time management, making sure my newscast was timed down the second. My husband, also being in the broadcast business, has that same strict deadline. (what would happen if you turned on the news and the anchors said, “hang on just a moment, we’re not ready!”)
So what works for your family? How do you fit it all in? We try to devote one day to getting stuff done and one for family time or events so we can feel like we spent some quality time together before my husband has to go back to work. But, it’s a struggle sometimes. He doesn’t believe me, but I really do want to kick back, relax, somehow get the girls to nap at exactly the same time and maybe watch a movie together or just look the other way instead of at the pile of dust accumulating. I’d also like to TRY and not harass him to get stuff done on my schedule, but rather his own, but I think my nagging might be genetic too? (or maybe it’s just me! )